25th Annual Galen Nagle Memorial Golf Tournament

For the second year in a row, the Galen Nagle Memorial Golf Tournament drew a record number of alumni, coaches and Beavers Hockey supporters to the Bemidji Town & Country Club in remembrance of Galen Nagle, a late Beavers Hockey great.

On July 15, a record 271 golfers (up from 225 in 2021) swarmed the Bemidji Town & Country Club to raise support for BSU men's hockey program expenses. All participants received tee gifts and enjoyed Stittsworth Meats brats grilled by Ace on the Lake, buns from Raphael's Bakery & Cafe and a meal following their rounds. Over $40,000 was raised among the tournament, on-course games and silent auction.

The tournament marked the start of a weekend-long celebration of legendary Beaver Hockey coach and BSU administrator, R.H. "Bob" Peters, who passed away December 15, 2021. A memorial mass and celebration of life was held July 16 in Bemidji.

The Galen Nagle Memorial Tournament raises funds in support of BSU’s men’s hockey program and the endowment fund set up in the name of the late Galen Nagle, a standout goaltender for the Beaver hockey team who helped lead the 1984 Beaver team to a perfect 31-0 season on their way to the program’s first NCAA Division II National Championship. Nagle unfortunately lost his life to cancer in 1996.

On-course games included closest-to-the-hole, long drive and long putt competitions as well as a hole-in-one contest with a $30,000 prize toward a new car courtesy of Dondelinger GM in Bemidji.

Presented by Sanford Health, the 2023 Galen Nagle Memorial Golf Tournament is scheduled for July 14, 2023. 

Tournament Winners


Closest to the Pin

  • Ross Rivard (hole #2)
  • Jim Tyler (hole #7)
  • Mike Fogelson (hole #11)
  • Andrew Lacoursiere (hole #14)

Longest Putt

  • Matt Prapevessis (hole #18)

Long Drive (hole #1)

  • Tina Offerdahl (women's division)
  • Rylee Curb (Under 35)
  • Jeff Peltier (35-49)
  • Sean Taggart (50-64)
  • Bob Paine (65+ plus)

Low Gross Team

  • Jack Mack
  • Tanner Mack
  • Cory Chupka
  • Darin Vatnsdal
  • Keaton Wolf

Low Net Team

  • Mike Fogelson
  • Jackson Fogelson
  • Brandon Nelson
  • Brennan Hockman
  • Mitch Hendricks