The Bemidji State University Athletic Hall of Fame Weekend, originally scheduled for October 29-30, has been postponed to January 2022 due to the rise in COVID-19 cases within Beltrami Country and the surrounding area.

In an effort to protect the health and safety of honorees, alumni and their guests, BSU Athletic Hall of Fame Weekend is now scheduled for January 21-22, 2022. The induction ceremony and banquet will take place on January 22 at a time and location to-be-determined.

Announcements regarding alumni reunions and other events will be posted online at as details become available. Beavers Athletics schedules can be found at

The move to postpone the event is consistent with recent decisions of other Minnesota State system universities, many of whom have rescheduled or drastically altered large gatherings to slow the spread of COVID-19 in their communities.

The BSU Athletic Hall of Fame recognizes alumni, former coaches, administrators and others who have excelled and brought acclaim to the university through their accomplishments. Eight individuals and one outstanding team will be inducted at the event.

AHOF graphic

2021 BSU Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Mike Alexander – 1982-86 (Men’s Hockey)
  • Amber Fryklund – 2000-03 (Women’s Hockey)
  • Joel Olander – 1977-81 (Swimming & Diving)
  • Cristy Risberg – 1993-96 (Track & Field)
  • Matt Wellumson – 1981, 1983, 1985-86 (Football)

Alumni Coaching Achievement Award
Jerry Lano ‘74

BSU Coaches Hall of Fame Inductee
Craig Hougen (Track & Field 1978-79, 1990-2015)

BSU Athletic Team Inductee
2000 Men’s Indoor Track & Field Team

John S. Glas Honorary Letter Winner
Frederick Baker ‘61

Kari Kantack Miller
Director of Annual Giving – Athletics
(218) 755-2827