More than 250 BSU donors, faculty, staff, community members and students gathered to honor distinguished alumni and others who have provided the university a strong foundation during the school’s first 100 years on October 4.

President Hensrud and Josh Christianson, executive director of university advancement, presented awards to the 2019 BSU Distinguished Alumni award winners, which included Dr. Boyd Bradbury ’88 (Professional Education Hall of Fame Award), Than “Alan” Htaik Lwin ’05 (Young Alumni Award), Robert T. Anderson ’80 (Outstanding Alumni Award) and Suzanne (Aultman) Kringen ’73 (Alumni Service Award).

Music played a special role in this year’s gala, with the BSU Wind Ensemble and Jazz Combo performing the national anthem, special dinner music and a performance of “Ningabii-anose”, a special centennial fanfare commissioned specifically for the university’s 100th anniversary.  Ningabii-anose translates to “icicles in mid-air” in the Ojibwe language.

Two individuals received special recognition for their outstanding support of the university. Wilfred Antell ’59 and Kay Mack ’86 received commemorative bowls as the latest inductees into BSU’s President’s and Legacy Societies, which honor donors for philanthropic support and service to BSU.