Bemidji State's 2023 individual inductees to the Athletic Hall of Fame, from left, Drey Bradley, Michele (Dinius) Kirby, Tony Kukich, Mark Liska, Kari Torgerson and Dr. Gary Erickson, are recognized during the intermission of a Bemidji State men's hockey game on Friday, Oct. 13, 2023, at the Sanford Center. (Courtesy / Brent Cizek)
Bemidji State trees logo green square

By BSU Alumni & Foundation

Published 12:40 p.m. on Oct. 17, 2023

Bemidji State University's Athletic Hall of Fame has expanded to accommodate six worthy individuals and one national championship-winning team, all of whom were formally inducted into the Hall on Saturday, Oct. 14.

Family, friends and supporters packed the Beaux Arts Ballroom for the annual ceremony and brunch, which recognizes alumni athletes, former coaches, administrators and others who have excelled and brought acclaim to the university.

This year's alumni athlete inductees were Drey Bradley (men's hockey, 1980-84); Michele (Dinius) Kirby (volleyball, 1995-2000); Tony Kukich (men's swimming and diving, 1980-83); Mark Liska (men's hockey, 1981-85); and Kari Torgerson (women's soccer, 2003-06). Dr. Gary Erickson was also honored as a John S. Glas Honorary Letter Winner, while the 1985-86 men's hockey team was inducted as an Outstanding Team honoree.

First established in 1978, the Athletic Hall of Fame now includes 208 individual athletes, 18 BSU coaches, 10 Alumni Coaches, 9 John S. Glas Honorary Letter Winners and 27 Outstanding Teams for their collective success.

The weekend also featured a Beaver Pride luncheon, a coaches and alumni athlete social and the Ice Breaker Tournament, which kicked off the 2023-24 men's hockey season.

The full Athletic Hall of Fame can be found here.

Click below to see photos from the weekend and to watch each alumni athlete's induction video.

Drey Bradley

Michele (Dinius) Kirby

Tony Kukich

Mark Liska

Kari Torgerson

Read more about the inductees

Posted in ,