Bemidji State University Men’s Hockey alumni, student-athletes, coaches and supporters showed up in force at the Bemidji Town and Country Club for the 22nd Annual Galen Nagle Memorial Golf Tournament July 12.

A tournament-record 208 golfers participated in the tournament’s morning and afternoon flights, on-course games and live and silent auctions.

In its 22nd year, the Galen Nagle Memorial Tournament raises funds in support of BSU’s men’s hockey program and the endowment fund set up in the name of the late Galen Nagle, a standout goaltender for the Beaver hockey team who helped lead the 1984 Beaver team to a perfect 31-0 season on their way to the program’s first NCAA Division II National Championship. Nagle unfortunately lost his life to cancer in 1996.

Prior to the afternoon round, BSU Men’s Hockey coach Tom Serratore recognized a former teammate of Galen Nagle, captain of the 1984 National Championship team and tournament chairman Bob Fitzgerald ’85 for his 22 years of dedicated service to the tournament with a commemorative autographed hockey stick.

Dinner, an award ceremony and a live and silent auction were held following the afternoon flight. A wide variety of items including autographed hockey jerseys, BSU Beavers memorabilia, golf equipment, prints, vacations and other merchandise were sold to the highest bidders with all proceeds going to support BSU Men’s Hockey players.

On-course games included a closest-to-the-hole, long drive and a long putt competition as well as a hole-in-one contest for a new car courtesy of Dondelinger GM in Bemidji.

Closest-to-the-Hole Contest Winners

  • Jim McElmury (hole #2)
  • J. MaGaurn (hole #7)
  • Tyler Scofield (hole #11)
  • Andy Friesen (hole #14)

Long-Putt Competition

  • Cory Delap (hole #18)

Long-Drive Competition Winners

  • Andrew Israelson (under 35 years)
  • Scott Fogelson (35-44 years)
  • Scott Tuomala (45-54 years)
  • Joel Otto (55-64 years)
  • Bob Paine (65+ years)

Five awards were given for the lowest net scores. The team of Derek Benson, Cody Cook, Jake Jorde, Trevor Spangler and Ryan Baer look home first place with a 61.6 net score. They also recorded the low gross score of the day by shooting a 54.

Second place with a net score of 63.6 went to the team of Steve Fogelson, Jim Jenson, Garrett Nelson, Joe Welle and Mike Fogelson.

The team of Mike Fogelson, Scott Fogelson, Matt Gregg, Andrew Israelson and Mitch Mackendaz earned third with a net score of 65.

Tom D’Albani, Nick D’Albani, Jeff D’Albani, Phil Eriksen and Jay Wilimek’s net score of 65.6 was good enough for fourth place.

Rounding out the net score competition was the team of Robin Anderson, Neal Holmstrom, Joel Otto, Toby Palmiscno and Jim Scanlan, who took fifth place with a net score of 65.6.

The 2020 Galen Nagle Memorial Golf Tournament is scheduled for July 17, 2020 at the Bemidji Town & Country Club.

Posted in